12/2/19: The Hume Award/Board Election

The Hume Award recognizes the most outstanding football player in Metro Nashville Public Schools.  The winner is chosen based on the following criteria: sportsmanship, scholarship, individual performance and value to the team.  Each Metro Nashville Public Schools has an opportunity to present a Hume Award nominee.

The Hume Award was inaugurated in 1944.  During an evening of watching a football game between two high school teams at West High School, Mr. William Hume, a prominent Nashville attorney and civic leader, and Chairman of the City Board of Education, remarked to Mr. W.A. Bass, the then Superintendent of Nashville City Schools, that some recognition should be given to the fine young men participating in the game of football in the Nashville schools.

This year’s nominees:

Carson Buchanan-Antioch High School

Michael Reese-Cane Ridge High School

Tyler Fletcher-East Nashville High School

Tyrell Wilson-Glencliff High School

Avont Burrus-Hillsboro High School

Anthony Alexander-Metin Tracy-Hillwood/Hume Fogg High Schools

Markelle Beasley-Hunters Lane High School

Zachery Drake- Maplewood High School

Jeremiah Mathews-McGavock High School

Salmaan Aqeel Walker-Overton High School

David Wesley Schelling-Pearl-Cohn/M.L. King Jr. High Schools

Andrew Covington-Stratford High School

Tywan Buggs-Whites Creek High School


The Rotary Board Election will be held on Monday, December 2.  You must be in attendance to vote. No proxy votes will be accepted.

You must vote for 4 of the nominees below for your ballot to be counted:

Jacky Akbari

Jessica Averbuch

Kimberly Estep

Sara Finley

William Liles

Joanne Pulles

Jim Schmitz